Criticality and the small successes of Janine

Being critical is one of my strong points. I love to take a look at a plan and try to poke as many holes in it as possible, be thorough in my approach so as to mitigate all of the issues possible at the outset. This lends itself to great plans in a supportive environment, but as I’m alone and “independent”, not only a positive mindset, but also a frequent recognition of good things that I am achieving, small successes that I can measure each and every day to show that I am not just coasting along and accomplishing nothing. Without these small successes, that argument could be easily made. I thought I’d share a few of my daily successes, originally recorded in pink and yellow chalk on my bedroom wall at the close of each day. This, hopefully, can give you small snapshots of my small, but meaningful, successes.

(in no particular order)

  1. Put in a full day of work and got re-energized
  2. Produced some really clear action items for creating pilots on our team
  3. Created an energy rebound between the morning and the afternoon sharing and group forming
  4. Had a wicked Halloween celebration
  5. Had a relaxing day and washed all of my clothes at the borehole w/ Khadiro
  6. Took a stand for my health and did not go to work
  7. Went to the farm! Harvested cariuana (maize)!
  8. Changed Director’s vision of implementation
  9. Realised how attached I am to Ghana
  10. Problem solved into having crazy grilled cheese sandwiches w/ the fam
  11. Sourced some useful feedback for communication
  12. Got director interested in strengthsfinder
  13. Had a really inspiring and successful skype call w/ the chatper
  14. Learned a lot about rice farming and bonded w/ Bako
  15. Stepped up and got three field trips for the week
About Janine Reid

What is Janine? -board game enthusiast -political observer -Vancouverite -questioner -listener -health provider
This entry was posted in EWB Work, Life in Ghana. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Criticality and the small successes of Janine

  1. annah13 says:

    Thanks for sharing Janine! The image of you taking the time to literally ‘chalk up’ these small but important successes is really powerful. How have you found that your traditional approach to thinking through problems or ideas has changed since being in Ghana?

    • Janine Reid says:

      There have been a few changes in my general personality that I’ve noticed, and one of them is to just take the time to sit, and not be doing anything “useful”. This in fact is where some of my most fruitful relationships have come from, because you never know who is secretly cousins with whom, who is running a nutrition centre, who has knowledge in random and wonderful places. So I’ve gone almost further to an extreme on a bias to meeting and learning about as many people as possible, and using them effectively as a network.
      Another aspect I’ve been particularly cognisant is one of situation. This has allowed me to be less harsh on myself, and helped me remain open-minded and often play the devil’s advocate to different colleagues or friends, when criticism gets abundant. It’s interesting to inject the position of analysing behaviours for root causes into conversations where they are attributing the outcomes completely to a person. Often an outcome is dependent on many things, only a few of which that person can actually influence or control. That’s the story of lack of opportunity, but applying it in the workplace setting especially towards my own performance has been interesting, and with mixed success.

What do you think?

