What does friendship look like?

I can safely say that I fervently wish I could just collect all of the awesome people that I have in my life and have them in the same place, easily accessible, their words and voices and laughter and musings just there. I know this is not going to be possible, especially with my Ghanaian friends here. Leaving them is going to create some difficulty, to be sure, but instead of focusing on that, I am trying to express the small moments that really define my relationships here, and maximise the time I do have to be with this mixed bag of entertaining, inspiring, and real people.

Friendship is:

Sharing a cold Fanta and conversation

Discussing fabrics and patterns

Verbal jousting

Yam-eating contests

Sharing a vision for a disciplined Ghana

Smiles

Forays into Canadian accent and sarcasm

Dance moves on fire

Cooking “experiments”

Gorging on delicious food and conversation

Emphatic handshakes

Roaming without aim

Unabashedly demanding food and readily giving it

Jokes, uproarious laughter, silliness and teasing

About Janine Reid

What is Janine? -board game enthusiast -political observer -Vancouverite -questioner -listener -health provider
This entry was posted in Life in Ghana. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

