Big hugs and tummy rubs

So I’ve been holding off on this post for some time (3 weeks almost) so it’s about time it gets out there.

I have wonderful friends.

I have friends that will drive me through Alberta and laugh at my city girl perspective. I have friends that will talk to me about open access licensing for pharmaceutical research. I have friends that will take me to the zoo. I have friends that know the MCAT experience, and tell me I will be okay. I have friends that will revel with me in insect and biological nerdiness. I have friends that will discuss their love for leadership development theory. I have friends that wear very soft shirts, perfect for tummy rubbing. I have friends that give amazing hugs. I have friends that will speak to me in French, despite my lack of prowess. I have friends that will share their hopes and fears about relationships. I have friends that inspire me when I hear them speak. I have friends that will make wax headbands with me on a hot summer day. I have friends that will ask me uncomfortable questions. I have friends that will sing their hearts out with me. I have friends that will listen to my rambling stories. I have friends that will ruthlessly compete with me. I have friends with which there is no longer any competition needed. I have friends that hold opposite perspectives compared to me. I have friends that will talk about everything and nothing with me, for hours. I have friends that will make fun of me when I need it. I have friends that will give me advice, and refuse to give me advice. I have friends I met by pure chance. I have friends that will laugh with me for so long and so hard that it hurts.

My life is really, truly, made up of these moments of friendship, and it’s to you that I owe buckets full of gratitude, because you’re wonderful and I miss you and you’re what keeps me going. And I honestly had a ridiculously awesome year with you all.

I know we’re countries and continents apart (now, if not usually), but I’m thinking of you. See you soon.

About Janine Reid

What is Janine? -board game enthusiast -political observer -Vancouverite -questioner -listener -health provider
This entry was posted in Canadian Connection. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

